Ready Reserves Challenge Their Call-Ups

by

Nathaniel Smith of Green Bay, WI, is one of the 3,845 members of the Individual Ready Reserves who have been called up for the Iraq War. Claiming that he is now a conscientious objector, he is also among the half of those who have challenged their orders. (According to one IRR soldier, "Actually they called up 5,400 members of the IRR and we have
collectively fought like hell to avoid mobilization. They recinded many
of the orders and only 3,900 orders are now in effect.")

According to the Green Bay Press-Gazette, there are 114,000 people in the IRR pool, making it a deep reservoir for more troops as new recruits become harder to bring into the military.

The article also says that of the 1,919 IRR soldiers that have sought delays or exemptions, 1,258 have been successful. Only 85 have been declined while 576 are pending. Will this ratio go down as IRR call-ups increase? Do all IRR soldiers know how to contest their orders, request delays, or declare themselves conscientious objectors?

6 Responses to “Ready Reserves Challenge Their Call-Ups”

  1. IRR Soldier... Says:

    Thank you for posting this.

    Unfortunately, the real numbers on delays and exemptions aren’t as rosy as the Army Human Resources Command (HRC) would have you believe.

    The “1,258 being successful” number includes those that have been given the bare minimum due process delays to file exemption and appeals packets. In reality, very few people are actually getting out of this one. Right now the only exceptions are serious medical ailments and extreme personal hardship (ie. a child/spouse on their deathbed).

    The overwhelming majority of those that sought delays have been denied!

    Some, are actively encouraging that we “fight like hell” within our due process rights. A few good blogs that you might want to check out on this timely subject appear below:

    1) “CPTKevin” by Captain Kevin O’Meara, one of the lucky few that got an exemption for medical reasons. Kevin is a 1984 Cornell graduate that served 9 years in the Army and left in ’93. He was recalled to duty in 2004. He has a great military and political blog called the “Command TOC.” Kevin is the subject matter expert on IRR delays and exemptions. I would encourage you to visit his blogs and read the vitriol directed by right-wingers, many who have never served, against IRR recalls seeking exemptions.

    http://armyadvice.org/kevinomeara/

    2) The second blog, is “IRR Soldier” (not me) by SDesch, a former Special Forces Sergeant. He too was recalled and successfully was exempted for medical reasons.

    http://www.irrsoldier.net/

    3)Another great one is called “Rusty Cannon” by CPT Ed Quayle, a Boulder, CO police officer who was recalled AFTER he resigned his commision upon completing his 8 year contract. Guess what? The Army said they lost it and as a result he got a 1 year trip to Iraq!

    This story is NOT going away and we expect AT LEAST 6,000 more IRRs to be recalled this year. These are 545 day mobilizations that in almost all cases involve soldiers being mobilized well beyond their contractual obligation.

    An interesting observation is that the OVERWHELMING MAJORITY of personnel/specialties being recalled are those of junior enlisted support jobs: 1,200 Truck Drivers, 600 mechanics, 400 postal clerks etc. These are the exact same jobs that Rummy et. al. said were “not inherently governmental” and that could be slashed/privatized. Now, 2 years later we are recalling former soldiers to perform jobs that KBR was contracted to perform.

  2. Concerned Ex-Military Says:

    8/4/05

    My wife received a phone call yesterday from Private “So-and-So” from the US Army. They left a phone number to call them back. Anonymously I called back to inquire the department she was calling from. They stated it was the desertion information point and that soldiers called were being involuntarily mobilized. I didn’t go any further.

    To give you some background, I served honorably on active duty for four years from ’93 to ’97. I signed up with the National Guard during college and graduated in 2002. I could no longer serve weekend duty due to work conflicts and requested to be discharged. They placed me in IRR status with the USAR Control Group in St. Louis, MO until my terminal date of military service obligation which is 1 ½ years from now.

    Due to my current situations, I and my family would be significantly affected if I was to deploy. My question is I don’t know what to do. ?? I do not want to be deployed. I do not want to even be in the IRR. I have not received orders yet, but I think they may be coming soon.

    The current situation that makes this difficult for me is:
    1. Medical conditions (acute bronchitis, severe allergies, reoccurring headaches, chronic back pain, flat foot issues/pain, and recent shoulder surgery)
    2. Still in probationary period with my new employer. If I leave for AD, they may exercise the option to let me go and we would really be in financial peril.
    3. No financial offset will be provided by my new employer during AD; they won’t pay me regular pay-military pay…all I would get is military pay. This would equal to about a $3,300 loss/month with military only pay.
    4. I am the only financial income for my family. And with our new home and finances in the new location, my wife would have to file for foreclosure and bankruptcy.
    5. I suffer from depression.
    6. I object to warfare.

    I don’t know what action I should take now. I don’t know my options if I do get something in the mail. Please let me know what you think if you have an opinion.

    -Concerned Ex-Military

  3. nathaniel Says:

    THIS BACK DOOR DRAFT MUST BE ENDED.

  4. Douglas Bennett Says:

    I am reading all these article about individuals trying to get out of their IRR /MSO obligations. What really is astonishing is that all these people forget that they volunteered for this. Nobody twisted their arms when they joined the Army in the first place. Most of them have reaped the benefits of and education paid for by Uncle Sam, and now that they have gotten what they wanted, they are crying foul because they are being mobilized.
    Every single one of them joined the Army for an 8 year period. How they choose to serve that time was up to them. They could have stayed on active duty for the whole duration, served in a Reserve or National Guard unit or in the IRR. When they decided to go into the IRR, they were counseled by a transition NCO about their responsibilities and possibility of being called back to active duty. Again, this is an all-volunteer Army and that is what makes us the greatest fighting force in the world.
    Stop all the complaining. Instead of using up so much energy trying to get out of a commitment that you made, use that energy in supporting your country and the commitment that you made to it. For those of you that try to get out of your commitment, I think you should have to pay back any tuition assistance that you have received from our government!

  5. Chad Strode Says:

    For an all volunteer army, it sure is hard to stop volunteering. Last time I donated time at the soup kitchen, and said i’d be back next week, no one sent the cops looking for me when i didn’t show up.

  6. dont agree with the BS Says:

    yea sure did volunteer to serve and did it proudly and will do it again if need be. shouldnt have to pay for some republicans mistake or the intels wrong doing and going after “WMD’s”.seems like its some one elses personal battle were fighting and not for the nations well beeing.

Leave a Reply

